Exploring the Concept of Six Sigma

Six Sigma is a set of tools, techniques and strategies deployed for process improvement. It was developed in 1981 by Motorola and gained heavy popularity in 1995. At present, it is a widely recognized concept used in many industrial sectors. The following article is going to discuss about Six Sigma and its different certifications.

About Six Sigma

The phenomenon of Six Sigma helps in improving the quality of process outputs by determining and eliminating the root causes of problems and reducing variability in business plus manufacturing processes.

It makes use of a cluster of quality management methods, such as statistical methods, to set up a special infrastructure of workforce within an organization. The categorization is done under tags like Champions, Green Belts, Black Belts and Yellow Belts. Such classification signifies the level of experts in the methods.

In a company, every project of Six Sigma is based on a defined series of steps and consists of quantified value targets. This may include ways to decrease process cycle time, minimize pollution, cut costs, escalate customer satisfaction and boost profits.

The Six Sigma term was basically coined on the basis of terminology related to manufacturing and statistical modeling of the processes of manufacturing. The maturity of these processes can be valued by a sigma rating representing its produce or the percentage of defect-free production resulting from it.

A six sigma process is carried out so that 99.9999998% of the yield is defect-free, which would be only 0.002 defective parts every million units. Motorola established the “six sigma” goal for its manufacturing operations. From here on, this objective became a by-word for the engineering and management practices that were done to achieve it.

Six Sigma Certification

The Six Sigma Certification indicates that the holder of this certificate possesses capabilities with respect to certain competencies. But it does not certify that the individual is proficient for unlimited process improvement. To obtain the certification, one needs to learn about the specific subject matter, pass a written test and prove his or her competency in a practical situation.

The learning materials can be bought from any Six Sigma training and consulting body. It is accompanied by classroom training. The Six Sigma Certification training session, which is purchased by you or your company, has varied bodies of knowledge and lengths for every level of Six Sigma (Green, Yellow, Black or Master Black Belt).

The written proficiency test for Six Sigma can be conducted by the training company or the entity hiring the training company. The organizations that have been long providing in-house training (companies such as Motorola and GE) have designed and administer their individual proficiency tests.

How to Get Certified

There is no set standard for passing or failing the test that may reflect an individual’s competency and there is no individual entity that has been designated to offer Six Sigma certification to the profession of quality. Every one of the ten companies giving training for Six Sigma will also offer the certification. The companies offering Six Sigma Certification provide you with the certificate as it allows them to distinguish between the levels of skills. After the training, these consultants and trainers usually charge extra to provide the certification.

The certificate will help you show your proficiency in a subject matter and boost your value as a resource which will help increase your employment chances and desirability, apart from improving your salary package.

Author bio: Devika Arora is a prolific writer who compiles relevant facts and analyzes current state of affairs pertaining to varied domains, such as employment, education, real estate, about SAP courses and matrimony in the global context. She is currently writing informative articles, news stories and blog posts for Six sigma certification.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *